Our Verdict on ThinkMarkets
ThinkMarkets offers leveraged forex and CFD trading through several account types and platforms, including its proprietary ThinkTrader and MetaTrader 4 and 5. The entity that contracts with a client depends on their location, so regulatory protections, leverage and other terms can differ.
Best For: Forex and CFD traders looking for several platform choices, multi-asset access or copy-trading tools.
Key Strength: The choice between spread-only pricing and a raw-spread account with commission gives traders different ways to structure trading costs.
Main Limitation: Account terms and protections are not uniform across jurisdictions, and leveraged CFDs carry a risk of rapid losses.
Verdict: ThinkMarkets offers a broad platform and account choice, but traders should identify their contracting entity and check the applicable account, instrument and protection terms before funding.
How We Rate Brokers: View our review methodology.
Strong Tracks
- Offers spread-only and raw-spread account pricing, with commission charged on ThinkZero.
- Provides ThinkTrader, MT4 and MT5, alongside mobile and desktop access.
- Supports copy trading through ThinkCopy and offers demo accounts.
Weak Tracks
- Leverage and client protections depend on jurisdiction, entity and client classification.
- Currency conversion charges, overnight swaps and possible inactivity fees can add to costs.
- Account minimums and terms vary, and some account information differs across the available descriptions.
ThinkMarkets at a Glance
| Feature | Details |
|---|---|
| Founded | 2010 |
| Headquarters | 1 North Wacker, Suite 4150, Chicago, Illinois 60606, United States |
| Pricing Model | Hybrid: Standard spread-only + ThinkZero commission |
| Spreads Starting From | 0.4 pips |
| Leverage up to | 1:2500 |
| Demo Account | Yes |
| Customer Support | 24 hours during the trading week (24/5) |
Is ThinkMarkets Safe and Regulated?
4.9/5
ThinkMarkets operates through different legal entities, so the protections that apply depend on where a client lives and which entity holds the account. UK, EEA, Australian, DIFC and other arrangements should not be treated as interchangeable; the relevant entity also determines applicable complaint and compensation routes.
Regulatory Licences
TF Global Markets (Aust) Pty Ltd — ASIC, licence/reference AFSL 424700 (Australia).
TF Global Markets (Europe) Ltd — CySEC, licence/reference CySEC licence 215/13 (EEA / Cyprus).
TF Global Markets (DIFC) Limited — DFSA, licence/reference F004173 (Dubai International Financial Centre / eligible regional clients).
TF Global Markets (UK) Limited — FCA, licence/reference 629628 (United Kingdom).
Think Capital Limited / applicable New Zealand entity — FMA (New Zealand), licence/reference FSP623289 (New Zealand).
Client Protection Measures
ThinkMarkets says it keeps client funds separate from its own operational funds. This is a safeguard against commingling, not a guarantee against every loss or counterparty risk. Negative-balance protection applies to retail clients, not money managers or accounts managed by them. The terms also allow positive balances in other accounts with the firm to be used to cover a deficit and reserve the right to refuse cover where a negative balance results from abusive trading practices.
Qualifying clients may be eligible for compensation through the UK FSCS or Cyprus ICF, subject to the applicable entity and scheme rules. The Cyprus ICF limit is up to €20,000 or 90% of the claim, whichever is lower. Eligibility and coverage should be checked against the client's contracting entity and circumstances.
Identity and residence verification are required to fully activate a live account or process withdrawals. These requirements are part of account onboarding and do not establish which entity will serve a particular applicant.
ThinkMarkets Trading Fees
3.3/5
Spreads and Commissions
Standard and ThinkTrader accounts use spread-only pricing, while ThinkZero offers raw spreads with a per-lot commission. ThinkZero FX and metals commission is typically about $3.50 per side, or $7.00 round trip, per lot. The Standard account's spreads start from 0.4 pips; the ThinkZero raw spread starts from 0.0 pips. These are different pricing structures, so the spread alone does not establish which account will cost less for a particular trading pattern.
Indicative average spreads include 0.42 pips on EUR/USD and 0.8 pips on GBP/USD; gold (XAU/USD) is quoted at 0.31 points. Spreads are floating and can vary. Share CFD commissions may apply in some cases, including South African shares.
Other Trading and Non-Trading Charges
Leveraged CFD positions held past the daily market cut-off can incur overnight swap charges, which may be debits or credits. Forex and commodities can incur a three-day swap on Wednesday to account for weekend settlement. Swap-free Islamic accounts are available, but the applicable account terms should be confirmed.
A 3% currency conversion fee applies when a deposit, withdrawal or trade involves a currency different from the account's base currency. An inactivity fee may apply after at least six months without trading; the amount depends on the entity and account. The account balance is not supposed to be reduced below zero by this inactivity charge.
ThinkMarkets Account Types
2.1/5
ThinkMarkets offers Standard, ThinkTrader and ThinkZero accounts. Standard and ThinkTrader use spread-only pricing; ThinkZero is designed around raw spreads and a commission per lot. Platform access and account terms differ, and minimum deposit information varies across the available account descriptions. Check the applicable account terms for the entity you will use rather than assuming one minimum applies across all regions and funding methods.
- Minimum Deposit
- From $50 on current global account comparison
- Available Platforms
- MT4; MT5
- Maximum Leverage
- Up to 1:500 internationally; UK retail up to 1:30
- Account Currencies
- USD, USDt, AUD, GBP, EUR, SGD, CHF
- Distinctive Features
- Standard spread-based pricing, zero FX commission
- Minimum Deposit
- From $10 on current global account comparison
- Available Platforms
- ThinkTrader; TradingView
- Maximum Leverage
- Up to 1:2500 internationally; UK retail up to 1:30
- Account Currencies
- USD, USDt, AUD, GBP, EUR, NZD, SGD, CHF, AED, QAR
- Distinctive Features
- Proprietary ThinkTrader, access to broad markets
- Minimum Deposit
- From $100 on current global account comparison
- Available Platforms
- MT4; MT5
- Maximum Leverage
- Up to 1:500 internationally; UK retail up to 1:30
- Account Currencies
- USD, USDt, AUD, GBP, EUR, SGD, CHF
- Distinctive Features
- Raw forex/metal spreads plus $7 round-turn/lot typical
How to Open an Account with ThinkMarkets
Applicants need to complete identity and residence verification before fully activating a live account or processing withdrawals. Accepted evidence includes a government-issued photo ID and a recent document showing the applicant's name and address. Contact support to request an Islamic swap-free account after opening a standard account.
Margin Requirements and Risk Management
2.1/5
Leverage depends on the contracting entity, client classification, account and instrument. UK retail clients are subject to a maximum of 1:30 for major currency pairs; international account terms describe higher maximums, including up to 1:500 for Standard and ThinkZero and up to 1:2500 for ThinkTrader. These are not universal limits, and the applicable instrument may have a lower cap. A 1:10000 figure applies specifically to the OVERDRIVE_10 synthetic index, not standard forex or equity contracts.
Margin call and stop-out levels are given as 100% and 50%, respectively; clients should confirm how these apply to their entity and account. Hedging is permitted, but holding opposing positions does not remove the need to maintain sufficient equity. The broker describes negative-balance protection for retail clients, subject to its exclusions and cross-account offset terms; it should not be assumed to apply to professional clients or managed accounts.
Leverage magnifies both gains and losses. Instrument-specific limits and the client's legal classification matter more than the highest headline leverage figure.
Trading Platforms and Execution
5/5
Platforms and Trading Features
ThinkMarkets provides ThinkTrader, MT4 and MT5, with web, desktop and mobile access across its platform offering. ThinkTrader includes TradingView charting, a TrendRisk scanner and built-in risk-management tools. MT4 and MT5 support Expert Advisors and custom indicators. ThinkCopy offers copy trading, and the broker also describes API access and VPS options for automated trading.
ThinkMarkets says a free VPS may be available to clients who trade at least 15 round-turn forex lots in a calendar month. Eligibility and the provider arrangements should be checked before relying on VPS access for an automated strategy.
Order Execution and Trading Restrictions
Scalping and hedging are permitted on standard ThinkMarkets trading accounts. News trading is also permitted on those accounts, but this should not be confused with accounts offered by ThinkCapital, the separate proprietary trading subsidiary: some funded-account rules restrict trading around high-impact news, while particular variants may differ.
During gaps or volatile conditions, the market price can change before an order is executed, resulting in execution at the first available level rather than the requested price. Platform tools and permission to use a strategy do not guarantee a particular execution price or outcome.
Who Can Actually Use ThinkMarkets’ Traders’ Gym?
ThinkMarkets’ Traders’ Gym lets users replay historical markets inside ThinkTrader and test decisions before risking money in a live trade. It is not, however, open to anyone who downloads a demo: the broker requires a live ThinkTrader account for access, even though the feature can be used in a demo environment. The restriction is worth knowing when comparing free practice tools. Traders’ Gym can help reveal how a method behaves over selected historical periods, but those replays cannot reproduce every aspect of live liquidity, slippage or decision-making under pressure. It is a testing aid rather than proof of a future edge.
Available Markets and Products
4.3/5
Markets Available at ThinkMarkets
- Forex
Maximum Leverage1:3.513888889
- Major
- Minor/Cross
- Exotic/Emerging-market (pairs)
- Indices
Maximum Leverage1:500
- Global equity indices
- Cryptocurrencies
Maximum Leverage1:1000
- Crypto CFDs (coins not specified)
- Commodities
Maximum Leverage1:1.430555556
- Metals
- Energy
- Agriculture
- Stocks
Maximum Leverage1:10
- Stocks (markets not specified) (CFDs)
- ETPs
Maximum Leverage1:10
- ETFs (subtypes not specified) (CFDs)
- Futures
Maximum Leverage1:200
- Equity-index
- Energy futures (CFDs
- not exchange-traded futures)
ThinkMarkets offers forex and CFDs on indices, cryptocurrencies, commodities, shares and ETFs, as well as futures-linked CFDs on equity indices and energy. These futures-linked products are CFDs, not exchange-traded futures.
Market Coverage and Accessibility
Available markets and leverage depend on the contract and the client's entity. The highest advertised leverage is not representative of ordinary products: the 1:10000 figure relates only to the OVERDRIVE_10 synthetic index. Review each instrument's contract specifications before trading, particularly for product type, pricing and leverage.
Deposits, Withdrawals and Customer Support
3.7/5
Deposit and Withdrawal Conditions
| Feature | Details |
|---|---|
| Minimum Deposit | $10 |
| Deposit Methods | Wire Transfer, Visa, Mastercard, Skrill, Google Pay, Neteller, SWIFT, Apple Pay, Tether, ERC20, Tron |
| Withdrawal Methods | Wire Transfer, Visa, Mastercard, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Skrill, Neteller, Tether, ERC20, Tron |
| Deposit Fees | No |
| Withdrawal Fees | No |
| Processing Time | Deposit: Cards and e-wallets are generally available immediately. SWIFT transfers usually take 1–3 business days, while SEPA funding takes around 1 business day.; Withdrawal: Bank-wire payouts usually require 3–5 business days, whereas card withdrawals may take up to 14 business days. |
| Verification Requirements | Yes |
ThinkMarkets generally charges no deposit or withdrawal fee, although banks and payment providers may impose their own charges. Bank transfers can involve intermediary fees, and third-party providers may apply processing or currency-conversion charges. The broker describes card and e-wallet deposits as generally available immediately; SWIFT transfers usually take 1–3 business days and SEPA funding around one business day. Bank-wire withdrawals usually take 3–5 business days, while card withdrawals may take up to 14 business days. Processing times can depend on the method and circumstances.
Funding and trading in a currency different from the account's base currency can trigger the 3% conversion fee. Minimum funding requirements also vary by account and method, so confirm the relevant terms before sending money.
Customer Support
Support is available by live chat, email and phone 24 hours during the trading week. Customer experiences vary: some report prompt and useful assistance, while more difficult withdrawal cases have involved delays or unclear communication. Keep records of payment and support correspondence if an issue arises.
ThinkMarkets vs Competitors
Broker Comparison Table
| Feature | ThinkMarkets | Pepperstone | FP Markets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Regulation | FCA, ASIC, CySEC, FSCA, DFSA, CIMA, FSC, FMA, FSA | ASIC, SCB, CySEC, DFSA, SCA, BaFin, CMA, FCA | ASIC, CySEC, FSCA, FSA |
| Minimum Deposit | $50 | $10 | $100 |
| Trading Platforms | ThinkTrader, MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, TradingView, ThinkCopy | Pepperstone platform, MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, cTrader, TradingView | MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, cTrader, TradingView |
| Leverage | 1:2500 | 1:1000 | 1:500 |
| Suitable For | Forex and CFD traders, mobile-focused investors, and users looking for a multi-asset environment with strong regulatory protections. | Active forex and CFD traders seeking low-cost pricing, platform choice, and strong regulation | Active traders, scalpers, and traders seeking low spreads and platform variety. |
Key Competitive Differences
Pepperstone and FP Markets are alternatives with spread-only and commission-based account structures, like ThinkMarkets. Their advertised Standard starting spreads are 1 pip, compared with ThinkMarkets' Standard starting spread of 0.4 pips. This is only a comparison of advertised starting figures: it does not establish like-for-like trading costs, since the underlying entities, account terms and execution conditions may differ. Actual spreads can also vary.
Pepperstone's evidence includes a £10 UK general minimum deposit for its Standard and Razor accounts, while the FP Markets minimum is commonly $100 and may be required or recommended by the entity. ThinkMarkets' account minimum information varies across its account descriptions, so compare the exact terms for the intended entity and account before deciding. These figures alone do not determine overall suitability or cost.
Who Is ThinkMarkets Best For?
Traders Who May Benefit
Traders who want to choose between spread-only and raw-spread-plus-commission pricing may find the account structure useful, provided they calculate costs against their own volume and holding period. Those who value platform choice may also benefit from access to ThinkTrader, MT4 and MT5. Copy trading is available through ThinkCopy, although provider requirements and copier balance conditions apply.
Traders Who May Prefer Alternatives
Clients who need a single, consistent leverage or protection framework across regions may prefer a provider whose terms fit their jurisdiction more clearly. Infrequent traders should factor in the possibility of an inactivity fee, while traders who hold leveraged positions overnight should account for swaps. Anyone comparing headline spreads or minimum deposits should verify the exact contracting entity, account and instrument rather than relying on a cross-broker headline figure.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does ThinkMarkets allow news trading?
News trading is permitted on standard ThinkMarkets live accounts. Some funded accounts offered by ThinkCapital, a separate proprietary trading subsidiary, restrict trading around high-impact news; rules can differ by account variant.
Does ThinkMarkets offer negative-balance protection?
ThinkMarkets describes negative-balance protection for retail clients, but excludes money managers and accounts managed by them. Its terms also allow positive balances in other accounts with the firm to be used to cover a deficit and reserve an exception for abusive trading practices.
What fees can apply when trading with ThinkMarkets?
Costs depend on the account: Standard and ThinkTrader use spreads, while ThinkZero charges commission alongside raw spreads. Leveraged positions held overnight may incur swaps; a 3% currency conversion fee and an inactivity fee after at least six months may also apply, subject to the relevant terms.