Broker review

Saxo Review 2026: Fees, Regulation & Trading Conditions

Updated on

Trail score

4.7/5

Open an Account

Your capital is at risk.

Compare Saxo
Min Deposit
$0
Spread
Floating
Regulation
DFSA, FCA, MAS, FINMA, JFSA, ACPR, CONSOB
Platforms
SaxoInvestor, SaxoTrader

Our Verdict on Saxo

Saxo is a multi-asset investment and trading group founded in 1992. Its products range from shares, funds and bonds to forex, CFDs, futures and options, with SaxoTrader and SaxoInvestor platforms. The entity that contracts with a client depends on location, so regulation, product access and protections are not uniform across the group.

Best For: Experienced traders and multi-asset investors seeking broad market access and advanced trading tools.

Key Strength: Access to a wide range of markets through proprietary platforms with features such as Level 2 order-book data, algorithmic orders and API trading.

Main Limitation: Costs depend on product, account tier and trading activity; financing, currency conversion and some custody or transfer charges can add to the headline trading cost.

Verdict: Saxo may suit investors who can make use of its breadth and tools, but prospective clients should check the terms of their contracting entity and calculate costs for the specific products and currencies they intend to use.

How We Rate Brokers: View our review methodology.

Strong Tracks

  • Broad range of investment and trading products, including shares, bonds, funds, forex, futures and options.
  • Proprietary web, desktop and mobile platforms, with API access and advanced order-book and charting features.
  • No inactivity fee, and no Saxo charge for standard bank-wire deposits or basic cash withdrawals.

Weak Tracks

  • Pricing varies by product and tier, with commissions, financing and a 0.25% currency-conversion fee potentially affecting total costs.
  • Regulatory protections and available products depend on the contracting entity and the client's location.
  • No copy trading or social trading, and no Islamic account is available.

Saxo at a Glance

FeatureDetails
Founded1992
HeadquartersPhilip Heymans Allé 15, 2900 Hellerup, Denmark.
Pricing ModelProduct-dependent: spread + commission
Spreads Starting From0.4 pips
Leverage up to1:100
Demo AccountYes
Customer Support24/5

Is Saxo Safe and Regulated?

5/5

Saxo operates through separate legal entities, and the applicable regulator and client protections depend on which entity serves the client. A group-wide description should therefore not be treated as a guarantee that every safeguard applies to every account or product.

Regulatory Licences

Saxo Capital Markets UK Ltd — FCA, licence/reference 551422 (United Kingdom).

Saxo Bank (Schweiz) AG — FINMA, licence/reference FINMA-authorised bank (Switzerland).

Saxo Bank Securities Ltd — JFSA, licence/reference Kanto Local Finance Bureau (Kinsho) No.239 (Japan).

Saxo Capital Markets Pte. Ltd. — MAS, licence/reference MAS Capital Markets Services licence (Singapore).

Client Protection Measures

Client funds are described as segregated, and negative balance protection is indicated, but the precise scope depends on the contracting entity, client classification and product terms. Eligible clients of Saxo Bank A/S may qualify for Danish Guarantee Fund protection of registered cash deposits up to the equivalent of €100,000 per depositor, and compensation up to €20,000 if financial instruments cannot be returned. These protections are subject to scheme rules and entity; they should not be assumed to apply to clients of other Saxo companies.

Saxo's group history includes an ASIC action concerning Saxo Capital Markets Australia: ASIC imposed eight interim stop orders on certain CFDs on 16 May 2023 and revoked them on 18 May 2023 after amendments. This was not an AFSL suspension. The episode is a reason to assess the relevant entity and product terms, rather than to generalise the action to other Saxo entities.

Saxo Trading Fees

5/5

Spreads and Commissions

Forex is generally spread-priced, while commissions apply to several other product classes; the overall model is product-dependent. Average spreads are quoted at 0.82 pips for EUR/USD and 1.21 pips for GBP/USD. The quoted averages for gold (XAU/USD) and the S&P 500 CFD are 0.42 points and 0.8 points respectively. A separate Classic-account reference gives a starting spread of 0.4 pips; that starting figure is not the same measure as the quoted average spreads.

Commissions depend on market and account tier. Share and ETF commissions can start from 0.08%, subject to minimums such as $1 for US stocks and £3 for UK stocks. A commission may also apply to smaller forex trades; the example provided is $3 for trades under 50,000 units of the base currency. Options and futures have their own contract- or market-dependent charges.

Other Trading and Non-Trading Charges

Leveraged positions held overnight incur financing or swap charges. Forex financing uses swap points with a markup or markdown; the cited examples are typically 2.50% for Classic and 2.00% for Platinum or VIP. CFDs incur financing on the traded value, and short single-stock CFDs may also incur a share-borrowing cost. Futures and options positions held overnight can incur carrying costs.

Currency conversion is charged at 0.25% of the prevailing FX spot mid-price when a transaction or cash movement involves a currency different from the relevant account currency. Holding funds in a matching-currency sub-account may reduce repeated conversions, although conversion may still apply when funds are moved or profits are repatriated. Saxo charges no inactivity fee, but custody charges may apply to some assets. Transferring securities out can cost typically EUR 50 per stock line, capped at EUR 160 or the currency equivalent.

How Much Can Saxo Platinum and VIP Pricing Save on UK Share Trades?

Saxo charges lower percentage commissions on UK shares as clients move from Classic to Platinum and VIP. The commission rates are 0.08%, 0.05% and 0.03% respectively, subject to applicable minimums and market charges. On a £20,000 share purchase, the percentage calculation falls from £16 at Classic to £10 at Platinum and £6 at VIP. That is a £10 difference between the two ends of the range. At the same percentage schedules, ten £20,000 transactions would create a £100 difference between Classic and VIP before any other fees. It is useful for large or frequent trades, but modest for occasional small orders. UK Platinum and VIP qualification generally involves substantial balances—around £200,000 and £1 million respectively—or relevant trading activity, which changes the overall value proposition.

Saxo Account Types

3.8/5

Saxo's Classic, Platinum and VIP tiers differ in pricing and service. For UK clients, Platinum is associated with a £200,000 deposit or qualifying trading volume, and VIP with £1,000,000 or qualifying trading volume; the precise qualification terms should be checked with Saxo. Platinum offers up to about 30% pricing discounts and priority support, while VIP is the highest published service tier with its best price schedule and dedicated support. These tiers do not imply a single leverage limit: margin depends on the instrument and client location.

How to Open an Account with Saxo

Account opening involves identity verification (KYC). The applicable onboarding requirements and products depend on the client's country and contracting Saxo entity. Saxo provides a demo account for practice, but demo access does not establish eligibility for a live account or a particular product.

Margin Requirements and Risk Management

3.8/5

There is no single leverage ceiling that applies to all Saxo clients or instruments. A UK retail forex example is up to 1:30, while the maximum available elsewhere is not established here. Product references give up to 1:20 for index and commodity exposure, and 1:5 for shares, ETPs and bonds; cash purchases of funds and crypto ETPs are unleveraged at 1:1. Futures and options use contract- or strategy-dependent margin rather than one universal ratio. Local rules, instrument terms and client classification affect the applicable requirement.

Leverage magnifies losses as well as gains, and positions can be closed if available margin is insufficient. Figures of 100% appear for both margin-call and stop-out levels, but without sufficient entity and product context they should not be treated as universal account thresholds. Negative balance protection is indicated, but its scope depends on the relevant entity and terms; clients should confirm how it applies to their account before trading leveraged products.

Trading Platforms and Execution

5/5

Platforms and Trading Features

Saxo provides its proprietary SaxoTrader and SaxoInvestor platforms, with SaxoTrader available across web, desktop and mobile interfaces. Features include Depth Trader, a Level 2 order book, Time & Sales, algorithmic orders, trailing and stop-limit orders, and multi-screen workspaces. API trading is available. The range of tools is suited to active and multi-asset workflows, although the specific interface available can vary.

Copy trading and social trading are not available. Scalping, hedging and news trading are permitted, and demo accounts are offered. These permissions do not remove market, liquidity or product-specific risks.

Order Execution and Trading Restrictions

Saxo says it does not use asymmetric slippage, that price improvements can occur, and that it provides a formal order-execution policy. These are execution-policy statements, not a promise of a particular fill price or of price improvement on an individual order. Clients should review the policy and product terms for the entity serving them.

Available Markets and Products

5/5

Markets Available at Saxo

  • Forex

    Maximum LeverageGlobal maximum not established; UK retail example 1:30

    • Major
    • Minor/Cross
    • Exotic/Emerging-market (spot)
    • FX forwards (separate instrument)
  • Indices

    Maximum Leverage1:20

    • Equity-index exposure (futures
    • options
    • CFDs)
  • Cryptocurrencies

    Maximum Leverage1:1 cash ETP purchase; embedded fund leverage may vary

    • Crypto ETPs (underlying coins not specified)
  • Commodities

    Maximum Leverage1:20

    • Metals
    • Energy
    • Agriculture (futures/futures-linked exposure)
  • Stocks

    Maximum Leverage1:5

    • International stocks (shares)
  • ETPs

    Maximum Leverage1:5

    • Equity
    • Bond
    • Commodity ETFs
    • ETCs
    • ETNs
  • Bonds

    Maximum Leverage1:5

    • Government
    • Corporate bonds
  • Futures

    Maximum LeverageContract-dependent; no single 1:X

    • Equity index
    • Currency
    • Commodity
    • Interest rate futures
  • Options

    Maximum LeverageStrategy-dependent; no single 1:X

    • Stock
    • FX
    • Index
    • Futures options
  • Funds

    Maximum Leverage1:1 (cash mutual funds)

    • Mutual funds

Saxo's range spans investment holdings and leveraged trading, including direct shares and bonds as well as derivatives such as CFDs, futures and options. Cryptocurrency exposure is through exchange-traded products rather than direct spot-coin dealing; the underlying coins are not specified.

Market Coverage and Accessibility

Instrument availability and leverage depend on residence, the contracting entity and the product. For example, a UK retail forex account may offer up to 1:30 leverage, while futures and options have contract- or strategy-specific margin. Broad product access can be useful for diversified portfolios, but it also means clients need to distinguish cash investments from leveraged or derivative exposure before placing an order.

Deposits, Withdrawals and Customer Support

3.3/5

Deposit and Withdrawal Conditions

FeatureDetails
Minimum Deposit$0
Deposit MethodsWire Transfer, SEPA, SWIFT, Visa, Mastercard, Maestro
Withdrawal MethodsWire Transfer, SEPA, SWIFT
Deposit FeesYes
Withdrawal FeesNo
Processing TimeDeposit: Card funding is generally immediate. Standard bank transfers usually require 1–2 business days, whereas bank wires usually take 2–5 business days.; Withdrawal: Domestic bank withdrawals are generally finalized in 1–2 business days, while international bank transfers usually take 2–5 business days.
Verification RequirementsYes

Standard bank-wire deposits are free of charge from Saxo, though an intermediary bank may deduct routing fees. Card operators may charge between 0.51% and 2.24%, depending on currency; debit cards issued in the EEA are fee-free. Saxo charges no fee for basic cash withdrawals, but intermediary or correspondent-bank deductions may apply. Securities transfers out can incur a separate transfer charge.

Funding time depends on the route: card funding is generally immediate, standard bank transfers usually take 1–2 business days, and bank wires 2–5 business days. Withdrawal timing is described differently across routes: domestic withdrawals are generally finalised in 1–2 business days and international transfers in 2–5 business days, while another estimate says funds usually reach the designated bank within 1 business day. Treat these as route-dependent estimates, not guaranteed settlement times.

Customer Support

Support operates 24/5 through a help centre, in-platform support and phone. Support languages include English, Danish, French, Dutch, Italian, Polish, German, Czech, Arabic, Chinese, Japanese and Portuguese. Customer feedback is generally favourable about useful and professional assistance, although some clients report lengthy verification processes or technical issues that take too long to resolve.

Saxo vs Competitors

Broker Comparison Table

FeatureSaxoInteractive BrokersSwissquote
RegulationDFSA, FCA, MAS, FINMA, JFSA, ACPR, CONSOBSEC, CFTC, FCA, CIRO, SFC, ASIC, FSAJFINMA, FCA, SFC, MAS, CySEC, FSCA, DFSA, and MFSA
Minimum Deposit$0$0$0
Trading PlatformsSaxoInvestor, SaxoTraderTrader Workstation (TWS), IBKR Desktop, IBKR Mobile, Client Portal, GlobalTraderAdvanced Trader, CFXD, MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, TradingView
Leverage1:1001:501:400
Suitable ForMulti-asset investors and advanced traders seeking broad market access.Advanced and global multi-asset traders seeking professional tools, low costs, and broad market access.Well-capitalized traders and investors seeking Swiss banking protection and broad multi-asset access

Key Competitive Differences

Interactive Brokers uses fixed or tiered commissions by product, while Saxo's pricing combines product-dependent spreads and commissions. Swissquote uses a hybrid model that can be spread-only, raw-spread with commission, or commission-based for stock CFDs. These differences may matter to investors comparing commission schedules, but they do not establish a like-for-like total-cost winner for a particular market or trading pattern.

The quoted starting spreads are not directly comparable: Saxo's 0.4-pip reference is for Classic, Interactive Brokers' 0.3-pip reference is for IBKR Pro, and Swissquote's 1.7-pip reference is for Standard. The account, jurisdiction and pricing basis are not sufficiently aligned to infer which will cost less for a given trade. Compare the relevant entity's live pricing, commissions and financing for the products you intend to trade.

Who Is Saxo Best For?

Traders Who May Benefit

Experienced investors who want access to multiple asset classes from one provider may value Saxo's combination of shares, funds, bonds, forex and derivatives. Active traders may also make use of SaxoTrader's order-book tools, algorithmic orders and API access. The tier structure may appeal to clients whose qualifying activity or assets justify the applicable Platinum or VIP pricing and service.

Traders Who May Prefer Alternatives

Clients seeking copy or social trading, an Islamic account, or a simpler spread-only cost structure may find Saxo a poor fit. Investors who trade infrequently but hold assets should check potential custody and currency-conversion costs, while anyone relying on a particular compensation or client-money regime should first confirm the contracting entity and its applicable protections.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Saxo require a minimum deposit?

For UK clients, the Classic tier has no minimum initial funding. Platinum and VIP are associated with £200,000 and £1,000,000 respectively, or qualifying trading volume. Requirements and eligibility can differ by location and entity.

Can I buy cryptocurrency directly through Saxo?

The described crypto exposure is through exchange-traded products. Direct spot-coin dealing is not included in the available product description, so clients should not treat a crypto ETP as ownership of the underlying coins.

Does Saxo guarantee that my funds are protected if it fails?

No single protection applies uniformly to every Saxo client. Eligible clients of Saxo Bank A/S may qualify for Danish Guarantee Fund protection, subject to scheme rules and entity. Confirm the contracting company and applicable safeguards for your own account; do not assume that protection applies across the group.

From fellow hunters

Share your experience

Name:

Email:

Your Report: